Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Your Kudos
Your Kudos Ranking --
8 Pages V  1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
>  G-Unleashed Computer Helpdesk
   
 
Shof
  Post#1 | Sep 9 2006, 20:22 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1590
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Music
Weapon: Uzi
Posts: 4,824
Member No.: 1,515
Joined: 10-April 05
*******************

IPB Image

Just like the web/graphics shop, This shop is used to help computer newbies solved various problems with there computers and to get it working with. The helpful geeks can also help you modified/tweak windows to run non micosoft themes, recommended programs to use and anything else related. Currently this shop is currently run by me only so far
Here is a list of programs that you can use that are good:
http://www.g-unleashed.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=6516

This post has been edited by Shof: Sep 10 2006, 16:19
 
DeWolfe
  Post#2 | Sep 9 2006, 20:53 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
2260
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Games In Sig
Weapon: M-16
Posts: 5,000
Member No.: 33
Joined: 23-October 04
********************

How do i turn my computer on?


--------------------
IPB Image
 
argh00
  Post#3 | Sep 9 2006, 20:53 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1530
Increase this members Kudos



Weapon: Slingshot
Posts: 870
Member No.: 5,853
Joined: 23-July 06
*********

Lol I'll give you a bit of buisness.
Ok a few days back I could play my games fine. Then I got an error say Virtual memory Running Low and my FPS dropeed to about 5 in most games making them unplayable. I freed up about 60-70gb on my computer and my FPS rose to about 10-20 but I used to get 100-200. Anyway I have re-installed my GHX drivers and tried re-installing the games but still no luck. Reformatting is not an option at the current moment due to me having a Dell and they dont supply the disks you need. The weird thing is the games runs fine in SP but lag like hell in MP due to the low FPS. Im not sure it might be in internet connection but why would this affect my FPS? if you've managed to read this far carry on hehe. My current itnernet connection is 2mb I think and I havent had a problem like this for 5 years since I got the internet in my house. I've also tried closing any programs running in the backround which might free up some running space but still no luck. I've run out of ideas im sure you have to but hey its worth a try coming here.

Thanks in advance.

Poping down the shop when im back I want a solution!!!!!

This post has been edited by argh00: Sep 9 2006, 20:55
 
Shof
  Post#4 | Sep 9 2006, 21:00 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1590
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Music
Weapon: Uzi
Posts: 4,824
Member No.: 1,515
Joined: 10-April 05
*******************

QUOTE(DeWolfe @ Sep 9 2006, 16:53 ) *

How do i turn my computer on?

Press the Power Button. One some computer models, the button has an symbol like this: !

argh00: Do this:
1. Right-click the My Computer icon on the desktop. Click Properties on the shortcut menu.
2. Click the Advance tab, then click on the first Setting box.
3. Click the Change button on the bottom.
4. In the Virtual Memory dialog box, Look at where it says Recommended in the total paging file size.
5. Click on Custom Size, then type in that number in Inital Size and in the Maxium Size, then hit Set.
6. Click ok, and then ok to close out of the system properties

Restart the computer and the problem should go away, if not, go back and double the recommended and type it in the inital size box again.
 
argh00
  Post#5 | Sep 9 2006, 21:26 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1530
Increase this members Kudos



Weapon: Slingshot
Posts: 870
Member No.: 5,853
Joined: 23-July 06
*********

Ye and if I cant click it?
Attached Image
 
Nico
  Post#6 | Sep 9 2006, 21:28 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
3740
Increase this members Kudos



THE REVIVALATOR
Posts: 6,812
Member No.: 18
Joined: 13-October 04
*********************

Nice idea Shof. Want me to make you a title graphic for in the first post? You can request it in the Graphics Shop tongue.gif

This topic will come in handy for me too, stupid Windows computer tongue.gif


--------------------
TNENIMMI SI LAVIVER UG
Nico's the name, bumping's the game
 
Shof
  Post#7 | Sep 9 2006, 21:39 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1590
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Music
Weapon: Uzi
Posts: 4,824
Member No.: 1,515
Joined: 10-April 05
*******************

QUOTE(argh00 @ Sep 9 2006, 17:26 ) *

Ye and if I cant click it?
Attached Image

How are you log inot the system(like is this and regular account or a limited account?). Based on that screenshot, it seems that you do not have an admin right
 
argh00
  Post#8 | Sep 9 2006, 21:41 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1530
Increase this members Kudos



Weapon: Slingshot
Posts: 870
Member No.: 5,853
Joined: 23-July 06
*********

I have full control over my computer just my account and Guest.
 
Shof
  Post#9 | Sep 9 2006, 21:44 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1590
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Music
Weapon: Uzi
Posts: 4,824
Member No.: 1,515
Joined: 10-April 05
*******************

What kind of windows are you running? Are you using any type of secuirty programs that take control of your system? What happen when you right click on my computer on the desktop?
 
DeWolfe
  Post#10 | Sep 9 2006, 21:46 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
2260
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Games In Sig
Weapon: M-16
Posts: 5,000
Member No.: 33
Joined: 23-October 04
********************

My Windows is also broken.


--------------------
IPB Image
 
Shof
  Post#11 | Sep 9 2006, 21:51 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1590
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Music
Weapon: Uzi
Posts: 4,824
Member No.: 1,515
Joined: 10-April 05
*******************

QUOTE(DeWolfe @ Sep 9 2006, 17:46 ) *

My Windows is also broken.

What kind of window? How did you your break it?
 
argh00
  Post#12 | Sep 9 2006, 21:51 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1530
Increase this members Kudos



Weapon: Slingshot
Posts: 870
Member No.: 5,853
Joined: 23-July 06
*********

Im using XP, only Mcfee (dunno how to spell) and it comes up with the usually options eg, properties, open etc.

QUOTE
What kind of window? How did you your break it?


Double glazzing and he keeps throwing his computer at it.

This post has been edited by argh00: Sep 9 2006, 21:52
 
Shof
  Post#13 | Sep 9 2006, 21:52 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1590
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Music
Weapon: Uzi
Posts: 4,824
Member No.: 1,515
Joined: 10-April 05
*******************

Hmm..thats odd. Becuase when i go into the Advance tab in system properties, i change the settings of the page files as i described aboe.

Are you running xp home or xp pro or xp mce?
 
argh00
  Post#14 | Sep 9 2006, 22:03 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1530
Increase this members Kudos



Weapon: Slingshot
Posts: 870
Member No.: 5,853
Joined: 23-July 06
*********

Home I think
 
Shof
  Post#15 | Sep 9 2006, 22:05 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1590
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Music
Weapon: Uzi
Posts: 4,824
Member No.: 1,515
Joined: 10-April 05
*******************

In System Properties, can you verify that?
 
argh00
  Post#16 | Sep 9 2006, 22:06 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1530
Increase this members Kudos



Weapon: Slingshot
Posts: 870
Member No.: 5,853
Joined: 23-July 06
*********

Ye Home Edition
 
Shof
  Post#17 | Sep 9 2006, 22:11 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1590
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Music
Weapon: Uzi
Posts: 4,824
Member No.: 1,515
Joined: 10-April 05
*******************

Ah, that explains it...Stupid Home vs pro. This might be the same as above, but try this:
1. Go the the Control Panel (from Windows Start menu).
2. Double-click the System item. This is under Performance and Maintenance if you are in the Category view. (or System in Classical)
3. Select the Advanced tab on the System Properties dialog.
4. Click the Settings button in the Performance box.
5. Select the Advanced tab on the Performance Options dialog.
6. Click the Change button in the Virtual Memory box.
7. Enter a larger value into the Maximum Size text field and then press OK on all the dialogs.



If you get that popup again, try clicking on the Run in seperate memory state and see if you can change the page file, If not, try clicking on the first one
 
argh00
  Post#18 | Sep 9 2006, 22:23 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1530
Increase this members Kudos



Weapon: Slingshot
Posts: 870
Member No.: 5,853
Joined: 23-July 06
*********

Hmm its improved a bit but not enough lol. Im still about 10-20 FPS but I suddenly get big lag spikes when im playing on my own server.
 
Shof
  Post#19 | Sep 9 2006, 22:24 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1590
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Music
Weapon: Uzi
Posts: 4,824
Member No.: 1,515
Joined: 10-April 05
*******************

Is the server on the same pc as your gaming? If so, that can be the caused of the lag
 
argh00
  Post#20 | Sep 9 2006, 22:24 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1530
Increase this members Kudos



Weapon: Slingshot
Posts: 870
Member No.: 5,853
Joined: 23-July 06
*********

No its my computer 0 ping its jsut the GHX when it has to load too much and it cant handle it because of the low FPS
 
DeWolfe
  Post#21 | Sep 9 2006, 22:45 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
2260
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Games In Sig
Weapon: M-16
Posts: 5,000
Member No.: 33
Joined: 23-October 04
********************

Why isn't my avatar working?


--------------------
IPB Image
 
JosephO75
  Post#22 | Sep 9 2006, 22:49 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1350
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: with everyone's mind
Weapon: Pistol
Posts: 3,097
Member No.: 2,942
Joined: 27-August 05
****************

how do i access the interweb?! wacko.gif


--------------------
 
Nico
  Post#23 | Sep 9 2006, 22:51 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
3740
Increase this members Kudos



THE REVIVALATOR
Posts: 6,812
Member No.: 18
Joined: 13-October 04
*********************

And where the hell is the Any Key? huh.gif


--------------------
TNENIMMI SI LAVIVER UG
Nico's the name, bumping's the game
 
DeWolfe
  Post#24 | Sep 9 2006, 22:59 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
2260
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Games In Sig
Weapon: M-16
Posts: 5,000
Member No.: 33
Joined: 23-October 04
********************

Does the F1 button make my computer faster?


--------------------
IPB Image
 
Nico
  Post#25 | Sep 9 2006, 23:04 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
3740
Increase this members Kudos



THE REVIVALATOR
Posts: 6,812
Member No.: 18
Joined: 13-October 04
*********************

HAHAHAHA laugh.gif

Anyways, back ontopic rolleyes.gif


--------------------
TNENIMMI SI LAVIVER UG
Nico's the name, bumping's the game
 
DeWolfe
  Post#26 | Sep 9 2006, 23:10 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
2260
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Games In Sig
Weapon: M-16
Posts: 5,000
Member No.: 33
Joined: 23-October 04
********************

Come on Shop, erm sorry, Shof, we've got all these questions that need answering!


--------------------
IPB Image
 
Shof
  Post#27 | Sep 10 2006, 00:37 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1590
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Music
Weapon: Uzi
Posts: 4,824
Member No.: 1,515
Joined: 10-April 05
*******************

QUOTE(DeWolfe @ Sep 9 2006, 19:10 ) *

Come on Shop, erm sorry, Shof, we've got all these questions that need answering!

You know, i do have a life and i was outsideing attending to life problems so thats why i am did not answer.Anways to get back to the topic:
QUOTE
Why isn't my avatar working?

Because the server it currently is on is not working, upload it to a free image hosting site like Imageshack

QUOTE
how do i access the interweb?!

What kind of connection do you have, Cable/DSL or Dailup? How is the equipment plugin, Ethernet port or phone? What Web broswer are you using,IE or FF?

QUOTE
And where the hell is the Any Key?

There is none, Any key means to press any button on the keyboard like enter, or space

QUOTE
Does the F1 button make my computer faster?

How will you it make the pc run faster, when all it does is just launchs the windows/program help menu

Oh sh*t, Look at what i done crazy.gif I am sorry Gloam, i should bow to you for my mistake praise.gif (Might have to think about that rolleyes.gif )

This post has been edited by Shof: Sep 10 2006, 00:38
 
DeWolfe
  Post#28 | Sep 10 2006, 02:08 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
2260
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Games In Sig
Weapon: M-16
Posts: 5,000
Member No.: 33
Joined: 23-October 04
********************

QUOTE(Shof @ Sep 10 2006, 01:37 ) *

You know, i do have a life and i was outsideing attending to life problems so thats why i am did not answer.Anways to get back to the topic:

Because the server it currently is on is not working, upload it to a free image hosting site like Imageshack
What kind of connection do you have, Cable/DSL or Dailup? How is the equipment plugin, Ethernet port or phone? What Web broswer are you using,IE or FF?
There is none, Any key means to press any button on the keyboard like enter, or space
How will you it make the pc run faster, when all it does is just launchs the windows/program help menu

Oh sh*t, Look at what i done crazy.gif I am sorry Gloam, i should bow to you for my mistake praise.gif (Might have to think about that rolleyes.gif )


I dont think you understood what I meant there!


--------------------
IPB Image
 
Shof
  Post#29 | Sep 10 2006, 02:43 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1590
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Music
Weapon: Uzi
Posts: 4,824
Member No.: 1,515
Joined: 10-April 05
*******************

Well, i did answer the question thumbsup.gif
 
Dragunov
  Post#30 | Sep 10 2006, 07:14 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
3180
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: with your mom
Weapon: M-16
Posts: 5,250
Member No.: 1,539
Joined: 16-April 05
********************

Yo Shof can i join you?

Also i have a really wierd PSU based problem. Whenever i try to turn my PC on it just won't do anything. After hours of tracking the problem down i came to my PSU. A Tagan 480W EasyCon to be precise. So whenever i try to turn the damn thing on mother****er won't do a thing. However, if i remove the 20pins ATX connector, connect the green wire with any of the black ones(that's what your power button does too happy.gif ) it fires up no problem, and when i reconnect it to my motherboard and try turning it on again it works as fine as it should. Now WTF?

EDIT: Ah and of course i undo the test connection on the PSU's 20pin ATX before reconnecting it to the mobo.

This post has been edited by Goblin: Sep 10 2006, 07:16


--------------------
IPB Image

"And you know she's really japanese because her genitals produce a force field that pixelates the air around them"
 
1 User(s) are reading this topic:
 
 
8 Pages V  1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
 
 
 
- Choose Skin: