Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Your Kudos
Your Kudos Ranking --
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
>  New Graphics Card Needed
   
 
Mark
  Post#1 | Dec 4 2008, 17:25 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
2920
Increase this members Kudos



Weapon: Shotgun
Posts: 4,099
Member No.: 6,649
Joined: 4-November 06
******************

so today i got gta iv for pc, installed and all that, but it lags for me as hell and textures load badly. i decided that i need a new gfx card (according to yougamers). i looked at some estonian webpage where i can get them, and i need an advise which one should i get.

1) click here
2) that is the gfx cards category, please look at all those and to get to another page, click järgmised in the end of the list. click it to look at the lists and when the word disappears, it means there are no more pages. eelmised means go back to previous page.

please help me choose out of those few pages lists, any suggestions would be very kindly appreciated, note that i don't care about the price.

This post has been edited by Mark: Dec 4 2008, 17:27
 
Simon
  Post#2 | Dec 4 2008, 17:30 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
380
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: CS:GO, Minecraft
Weapon: Paintball gun
Posts: 1,273
Member No.: 6,748
Joined: 17-November 06
***********

What's your PC specs?

Check on http://www.systemrequirementslab.com take a screenshot and post it here.


--------------------
<!--quoteo(post=168335:date=Jul 9 2008, 15:41 :name=Chaos-Energy)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Chaos-Energy @ Jul 9 2008, 15:41 ) *</div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->
Wait till Simon gets here with one of his Viking rage outbursts.

Dragonball characters look like pussies compared to him.
<!--QuoteEnd--></div>
 
Dragunov
  Post#3 | Dec 4 2008, 17:31 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
3180
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: with your mom
Weapon: M-16
Posts: 5,250
Member No.: 1,539
Joined: 16-April 05
********************

You should have used this.
http://www.g-unleashed.com/forums/index.ph...c=11144&hl=

Also how am i supposed to choose a video card for you if you don't tell me wether you're AGP or PCI-e and wether your PSU has PCI-e 6-pin power lines?

QUOTE(Simon @ Dec 4 2008, 18:30 ) *

What's your PC specs?

Check on http://www.systemrequirementslab.com take a screenshot and post it here.

That's not necessary.


--------------------
IPB Image

"And you know she's really japanese because her genitals produce a force field that pixelates the air around them"
 
Simon
  Post#4 | Dec 4 2008, 17:33 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
380
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: CS:GO, Minecraft
Weapon: Paintball gun
Posts: 1,273
Member No.: 6,748
Joined: 17-November 06
***********

QUOTE(Dragunov @ Dec 4 2008, 18:31 ) *

That's not necessary.


It might not just be his gfx card that isnt enough.

This post has been edited by Simon: Dec 4 2008, 17:33


--------------------
<!--quoteo(post=168335:date=Jul 9 2008, 15:41 :name=Chaos-Energy)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Chaos-Energy @ Jul 9 2008, 15:41 ) *</div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->
Wait till Simon gets here with one of his Viking rage outbursts.

Dragonball characters look like pussies compared to him.
<!--QuoteEnd--></div>
 
Mark
  Post#5 | Dec 4 2008, 17:35 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
2920
Increase this members Kudos



Weapon: Shotgun
Posts: 4,099
Member No.: 6,649
Joined: 4-November 06
******************

QUOTE(Dragunov @ Dec 4 2008, 20:31 ) *

Also how am i supposed to choose a video card for you if you don't tell me wether you're AGP or PCI-e and wether your PSU has PCI-e 6-pin power lines?

sorry for my noobism but where can i find info about them? i'd tell you if i'd knew where to find info about them

also:
IPB Image

This post has been edited by Mark: Dec 4 2008, 17:41
 
Dragunov
  Post#6 | Dec 4 2008, 19:48 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
3180
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: with your mom
Weapon: M-16
Posts: 5,250
Member No.: 1,539
Joined: 16-April 05
********************

QUOTE(Mark @ Dec 4 2008, 18:35 ) *

sorry for my noobism but where can i find info about them? i'd tell you if i'd knew where to find info about them


Hmm that's a tough one. I don't think you can find that out inside Windows. Your best bet to find out wether your GPU is PCI-E or AGP is to look at its box. For the PSU, well you most likely have to open up the PC and look. But by far not every PCI-e video card requires external power, so you should just find out wether it's PCI-E or AGP. Also what's your budget?

This post has been edited by Dragunov: Dec 4 2008, 19:48


--------------------
IPB Image

"And you know she's really japanese because her genitals produce a force field that pixelates the air around them"
 
Chaos-Energy
  Post#7 | Dec 4 2008, 20:07 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1010
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Too much
Weapon: Pistol
Posts: 3,032
Member No.: 404
Joined: 20-November 04
****************

Rightclick on my computer, pick the fourth option (no idea what it's called in English), choose device management or something like that, rightclick on your video card and choose properties. Location should say AGP or PCI.
 
Mister V
  Post#8 | Dec 4 2008, 20:26 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1940
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Mass Effect
Weapon: Submarine
Posts: 10,079
Member No.: 21
Joined: 14-October 04
*************************

Do they even make AGP slots any more?..

You have an 8500, hmm, I thought that would be sufficient. You'd have to get a GTX260 or a 9800 GT.


--------------------
IPB Image
Then God said, "Let there be win",
and there was win, and it was good.
 
Simon
  Post#9 | Dec 4 2008, 21:49 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
380
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: CS:GO, Minecraft
Weapon: Paintball gun
Posts: 1,273
Member No.: 6,748
Joined: 17-November 06
***********

I just looked it up, His gfx card fits in PCI-e slots.
He's just below the limit with the gfx card.

Other gfx card
Other gfx card
Other gfx card
Other gfx card
Other gfx card
Other gfx card
Other gfx card
Other gfx card
Other gfx card
Other gfx card
Recommended

His gfx card
Other gfx card
Other gfx card
Other gfx card
Other gfx card
Other gfx card
Other gfx card
Other gfx card
Other gfx card


This post has been edited by Simon: Dec 4 2008, 21:51


--------------------
<!--quoteo(post=168335:date=Jul 9 2008, 15:41 :name=Chaos-Energy)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Chaos-Energy @ Jul 9 2008, 15:41 ) *</div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->
Wait till Simon gets here with one of his Viking rage outbursts.

Dragonball characters look like pussies compared to him.
<!--QuoteEnd--></div>
 
Dragunov
  Post#10 | Dec 4 2008, 21:52 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
3180
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: with your mom
Weapon: M-16
Posts: 5,250
Member No.: 1,539
Joined: 16-April 05
********************

QUOTE(Simon @ Dec 4 2008, 22:49 ) *

I just looked it up, His gfx card fits in PCI-e slots.



eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee not so fast.

They did make AGP 8 series so you can't be sure of that. Why do you think i'm asking?


--------------------
IPB Image

"And you know she's really japanese because her genitals produce a force field that pixelates the air around them"
 
Simon
  Post#11 | Dec 4 2008, 21:56 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
380
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: CS:GO, Minecraft
Weapon: Paintball gun
Posts: 1,273
Member No.: 6,748
Joined: 17-November 06
***********

But I looked up nvidia geforce 8500 gt on their webpage, It does fit in PCI-e slots.


--------------------
<!--quoteo(post=168335:date=Jul 9 2008, 15:41 :name=Chaos-Energy)--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Chaos-Energy @ Jul 9 2008, 15:41 ) *</div><div class='quotemain'><!--quotec-->
Wait till Simon gets here with one of his Viking rage outbursts.

Dragonball characters look like pussies compared to him.
<!--QuoteEnd--></div>
 
Dragunov
  Post#12 | Dec 5 2008, 08:50 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
3180
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: with your mom
Weapon: M-16
Posts: 5,250
Member No.: 1,539
Joined: 16-April 05
********************

wallbash.gif The PCI-e versions do. The AGP ones don't.

Pay some attention.


--------------------
IPB Image

"And you know she's really japanese because her genitals produce a force field that pixelates the air around them"
 
Mark
  Post#13 | Dec 5 2008, 09:54 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
2920
Increase this members Kudos



Weapon: Shotgun
Posts: 4,099
Member No.: 6,649
Joined: 4-November 06
******************

ok last night i looked for mister v's suggestions and i came across these: http://www.hinnavaatlus.ee/search/?Query=g...amp;x=0&y=0

opinions about them? good or bad? i also discovered that i need a new processor (that will replace cpu and cpu speed right?) because i want to beat the recommended requirements for iv to play it properly
 
Dragunov
  Post#14 | Dec 5 2008, 10:48 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
3180
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: with your mom
Weapon: M-16
Posts: 5,250
Member No.: 1,539
Joined: 16-April 05
********************

QUOTE(Mark @ Dec 5 2008, 10:54 ) *

ok last night i looked for mister v's suggestions and i came across these: http://www.hinnavaatlus.ee/search/?Query=g...amp;x=0&y=0

opinions about them? good or bad? i also discovered that i need a new processor (that will replace cpu and cpu speed right?) because i want to beat the recommended requirements for iv to play it properly

Hellooooooooooo knock knock anyone home? We still don't know for sure wether you're PCI-E or AGP.

And your CPU is OK.


--------------------
IPB Image

"And you know she's really japanese because her genitals produce a force field that pixelates the air around them"
 
Mark
  Post#15 | Dec 5 2008, 11:10 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
2920
Increase this members Kudos



Weapon: Shotgun
Posts: 4,099
Member No.: 6,649
Joined: 4-November 06
******************

QUOTE(Dragunov @ Dec 5 2008, 13:48 ) *

Hellooooooooooo knock knock anyone home? We still don't know for sure wether you're PCI-E or AGP.

And your CPU is OK.

can't find any shortcuts where can i see those things, any screens or anything?
 
Dragunov
  Post#16 | Dec 5 2008, 11:35 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
3180
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: with your mom
Weapon: M-16
Posts: 5,250
Member No.: 1,539
Joined: 16-April 05
********************

QUOTE(Mark @ Dec 5 2008, 12:10 ) *

can't find any shortcuts where can i see those things, any screens or anything?

Post #6 and 7


--------------------
IPB Image

"And you know she's really japanese because her genitals produce a force field that pixelates the air around them"
 
DeWolfe
  Post#17 | Dec 5 2008, 12:17 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
2260
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Games In Sig
Weapon: M-16
Posts: 5,000
Member No.: 33
Joined: 23-October 04
********************

IPB Image


--------------------
IPB Image
 
Dragunov
  Post#18 | Dec 5 2008, 12:59 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
3180
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: with your mom
Weapon: M-16
Posts: 5,250
Member No.: 1,539
Joined: 16-April 05
********************

Well i ended up remote admining Mark's PC and we found out that he's PCI-E.


--------------------
IPB Image

"And you know she's really japanese because her genitals produce a force field that pixelates the air around them"
 
Mark
  Post#19 | Dec 5 2008, 17:23 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
2920
Increase this members Kudos



Weapon: Shotgun
Posts: 4,099
Member No.: 6,649
Joined: 4-November 06
******************

QUOTE(Dragunov @ Dec 5 2008, 15:59 ) *

Well i ended up remote admining Mark's PC and we found out that he's PCI-E.

yeah so what's next, can i get something from these or not? are those cards good or bad?
 
Mister V
  Post#20 | Dec 6 2008, 08:31 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1940
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Mass Effect
Weapon: Submarine
Posts: 10,079
Member No.: 21
Joined: 14-October 04
*************************

Well the 280 itself is awesome, it's just that it has requirements...
For instance, it's big, real big (so you won't fit it in a mini tower or something), and it requires a 600W+ power supply.


--------------------
IPB Image
Then God said, "Let there be win",
and there was win, and it was good.
 
Mark
  Post#21 | Dec 6 2008, 12:42 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
2920
Increase this members Kudos



Weapon: Shotgun
Posts: 4,099
Member No.: 6,649
Joined: 4-November 06
******************

cheers, i'll keep that in mind. now i also need a good processor which will beat gta iv requirements obviously, can someone recommend me a good one from here?

also wait a second, there seems to be some sort of patch for nvidia 7900 series, should i d/load that, i have nvidia geforce 8500 gt?
 
DeWolfe
  Post#22 | Dec 6 2008, 13:05 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
2260
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Games In Sig
Weapon: M-16
Posts: 5,000
Member No.: 33
Joined: 23-October 04
********************

Maybe Im missing something, but why didnt you upgrade before you got it? Wasnt the system requirements announced ages ago?


--------------------
IPB Image
 
Mark
  Post#23 | Dec 6 2008, 16:18 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
2920
Increase this members Kudos



Weapon: Shotgun
Posts: 4,099
Member No.: 6,649
Joined: 4-November 06
******************

some guy told me that he has same gfx card and he has no problem at all, he said it might be my ram amount is not enough. is this true?? shocking.gif
 
Shof
  Post#24 | Dec 6 2008, 16:28 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1590
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Music
Weapon: Uzi
Posts: 4,824
Member No.: 1,515
Joined: 10-April 05
*******************

i running the game on a 256mb 8600 gts card using the latest 180.somethingish drivers that was release yetseday/lastnight

as for my pc specs:
500watt power supply
4gb corsair ram
256mb 8600 gts
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 3.1GHz
ASUS M3A78 motherboard

Using Vista x64 SP1 with all of the latest updates provided by windows update
 
DeWolfe
  Post#25 | Dec 6 2008, 16:38 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
2260
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Games In Sig
Weapon: M-16
Posts: 5,000
Member No.: 33
Joined: 23-October 04
********************

Where've you been Shof?


--------------------
IPB Image
 
Shof
  Post#26 | Dec 6 2008, 16:39 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1590
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Music
Weapon: Uzi
Posts: 4,824
Member No.: 1,515
Joined: 10-April 05
*******************

QUOTE(DeWolfe @ Dec 6 2008, 11:38 ) *

Where've you been Shof?

hiding from the newbies
 
1 User(s) are reading this topic:
 
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
 
 
 
- Choose Skin: