Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Your Kudos
Your Kudos Ranking --
2 Pages V  1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
>  Sa Problems, The dreaded Errors
   
   
   
 
Have you had Disc Read Errors or other problems while playing San Andreas?
Have you had Disc Read Errors or other problems while playing San Andreas?
No, game runs fine! [ 53 ] ** [51.96%]
Yeah, once in a while. [ 32 ] ** [31.37%]
Quite often. [ 8 ] ** [7.84%]
I can't play because of them!!! [ 9 ] ** [8.82%]
Total Votes: 102
Guests cannot vote 
 
Mister V
  Post#1 | Dec 14 2004, 21:33 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1930
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Mass Effect
Weapon: Submarine
Posts: 10,079
Member No.: 21
Joined: 14-October 04
*************************

Of course, there is no solution for Disc Read Errors, because they aren't game glitches, but are caused by the hardware.
But in this poll, all problems count, not only DRE's.
Sony support said to many people who adressed their claims that it was written to keep your Playstation in a horizontal position, which would prevent the happening of scratches on the disc. Right...

Vote and feel free to comment wink.gif

This post has been edited by Mister V: Dec 14 2004, 22:29


--------------------
IPB Image
Then God said, "Let there be win",
and there was win, and it was good.
 
colinz_87
  Post#2 | Dec 14 2004, 22:20 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
0
Increase this members Kudos

Weapon: Slingshot
Posts: 797
Member No.: 68
Joined: 24-October 04
*********

thats bs about keeping it horizontal. My ps2 is always horizontal and i constantly got the Disc Read Error, now my ps2 is well intruly f***** where as even Need For Speed Underground (1) has problems where things do not show. Now my ps2 has been sent to see if it can be repaired. Also, if they want the ps2 to be horizontal, they really shouldnt have made it so it can be vertical.

yep... so if you read that you'd know ive had the disc read error.


--------------------
Colinz
 
wite_gangsta
  Post#3 | Dec 15 2004, 09:50 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
0
Increase this members Kudos

Playing: GTA: VC, GTA: SA
Weapon: Slingshot
Posts: 876
Member No.: 347
Joined: 13-November 04
*********

my ps2 is 2 years old now. happy birthday wite gangstas ps2. Myn has never done the disc read error in like a year. I havent even put it vertical because when I do it just goes bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbzbzbzzzzzzzzzzzbzzzzzzzzzz


--------------------
download my latest vid - VC VS SA
 
MachineGunFunk
  Post#4 | Dec 15 2004, 12:14 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
0
Increase this members Kudos

Playing: BrainBread, k?
Weapon: Water Pistol
Posts: 330
Member No.: 36
Joined: 23-October 04
******

No disc errors here, but, the game lags a little when there are lots of cops chasing me on my 2 year old PS2.

This post has been edited by MachineGunFunk: Dec 15 2004, 12:14


--------------------
This is not a signature.
 
Bayze
  Post#5 | Dec 15 2004, 19:44 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
60
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: GTA: San Andreas
Weapon: Pointed Stick
Posts: 193
Member No.: 344
Joined: 12-November 04
****

I cant paly because of the errors, i e-mailed rockstar and this is what i was told...

1. Boot the Playstation 2 with no disc in the drive.
2. Highlight System Configuration, press the triangle button.
3. Highlight Playstation Driver and press the triangle button.
4. Try to toggle the disc speed between it's current setting and the other
available setting (so if its set to normal, change it to fast, and vice
versa).
5. Exit back to the main menu then insert the game disc and try again.
6. If it still doesn't work then Boot the Playstation 2 with no disc in the
drive again and follow the instructions detailed in steps 2-3 but instead
of selecting disc speed, select the option for Texture Mapping.
7. Again toggle between the two available settings.
8. Repeat step 5.


You can also try using the Automatic-Diagnosis feature. (This is
applicable only to games on DVD)
1. Go to the main menu (again after booting the Playstation 2 with no disc
in the drive).
2. Press the triangle button.
3. Highlight Console and press the triangle button again. This should give
the option to turn the Diagnosis feature on or off.
4. Turn Diagnosis on and then press triangle button to return to the very
first menu.
5. Choose browse then insert the game DVD. Select the DVD when the icon
appears onscreen

If a problem remains with reading the disc then please get back in touch
with the information below:

Model number of the PS2. The model number can be found on the back of the
PS2 on the left. The number will start with SCPH (for example SCPH-39003)

Does the PS2 work with other DVD games? DVD games have a silver back as
opposed to CD based games with a blue tint to the read side of the disc

Does the PS2 play DVD movies?

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Didn't help me so i've sent them my SCPH No. but if you're having any problems then try what it says


--------------------
 
Mister V
  Post#6 | Dec 15 2004, 21:37 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1930
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Mass Effect
Weapon: Submarine
Posts: 10,079
Member No.: 21
Joined: 14-October 04
*************************

thanks a lot Bayze! that should help other people!


--------------------
IPB Image
Then God said, "Let there be win",
and there was win, and it was good.
 
20--jamesy--07
  Post#7 | Dec 21 2004, 12:12 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
620
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: GTA IV 48.99%
Weapon: Slingshot
Posts: 775
Member No.: 35
Joined: 23-October 04
*********

no errors just crashes on my game
QUOTE
Does the PS2 play DVD movies?

yes it does


--------------------
IPB Image
 
Mister V
  Post#8 | Dec 21 2004, 12:54 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1930
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Mass Effect
Weapon: Submarine
Posts: 10,079
Member No.: 21
Joined: 14-October 04
*************************

did you try to start a new game? see if it doesnt crash?

otherwise...must be somth with your disk - either scratched or your PS2 cant take it anymore no.gif


--------------------
IPB Image
Then God said, "Let there be win",
and there was win, and it was good.
 
20--jamesy--07
  Post#9 | Dec 21 2004, 13:24 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
620
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: GTA IV 48.99%
Weapon: Slingshot
Posts: 775
Member No.: 35
Joined: 23-October 04
*********

QUOTE(Mister V @ Dec 21 2004, 12:54 )
did you try to start a new game? see if it doesnt crash?

otherwise...must be somth with your disk - either scratched or your PS2 cant take it anymore no.gif
*

i can still play it it only happens when i get out the vortex sometimes


--------------------
IPB Image
 
Mister V
  Post#10 | Dec 21 2004, 13:28 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1930
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Mass Effect
Weapon: Submarine
Posts: 10,079
Member No.: 21
Joined: 14-October 04
*************************

wah the PS2 cant handle it :-p


--------------------
IPB Image
Then God said, "Let there be win",
and there was win, and it was good.
 
Bounkass
  Post#11 | Dec 21 2004, 18:52 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
400
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Rubik's Cube
Weapon: Spear
Posts: 1,751
Member No.: 541
Joined: 12-December 04
*************

Untill now I've had one problem, but it's a BIG problem! I can't load my file.. dry.gif It says: 'Loading Failed, Check Memory Card in slot 2........ Restartng Game.. dry.gif
I will do anything to play that file again... praise.gif
 
Meldince
  Post#12 | Dec 21 2004, 18:55 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
210
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Halo 2//TO:KOL
Idiot Mod
Posts: 2,499
Member No.: 6
Joined: 13-October 04
**************

One thing I noticed about a lot of PS2 games, it really doesn't like SLot2 (R* especially) for memory cards

switch it to slot one.


--------------------
A Force To Be Reckoned With
IPB Image
Mission Guide Now Up!

IPB Image
 
Bayze
  Post#13 | Dec 24 2004, 00:07 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
60
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: GTA: San Andreas
Weapon: Pointed Stick
Posts: 193
Member No.: 344
Joined: 12-November 04
****

Mine still isn't working, its better than it was, it'll work for about 30 mins - 1hr and then crash but i'm having to continually save the game just to make sure i dont loose anything, eurg mad.gif


--------------------
 
colinz_87
  Post#14 | Dec 24 2004, 02:04 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
0
Increase this members Kudos

Weapon: Slingshot
Posts: 797
Member No.: 68
Joined: 24-October 04
*********

yay, my ps2 went for repairs and i got it back yesterday smile.gifsmile.gifsmile.gif now it plays fine. I have a feeling if i play it as excessively as i did last time that it will break down again. 5 year warranty was a good thing to get!


--------------------
Colinz
 
wite gangsta
  Post#15 | Dec 24 2004, 06:29 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page



Unregistered





sorry wrote something here and posted by accident.

This post has been edited by wite gangsta: Dec 24 2004, 06:35
 
Spiderke
  Post#16 | Dec 25 2004, 19:52 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
0
Increase this members Kudos

Playing: GTA San Andreas
Weapon: Unarmed
Posts: 8
Member No.: 620
Joined: 25-December 04


I have no problems with the game clap.gif


--------------------
*-~ SPIDERSENCER ~-*
 
liammail9
  Post#17 | Dec 30 2004, 23:54 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM



Weapon: Elastic Band
Posts: 132
Member No.: 651
Joined: 28-December 04
***

QUOTE(Spiderke @ Dec 25 2004, 19:52 )
I have no problems with the game  clap.gif
*



if u ever derail a train do not put it in your garage it will freeze the game


--------------------
I got banned for making duplicate accounts when I was already on the borderline, and spamming offcourse. -derct
 
NNY
  Post#18 | Dec 31 2004, 00:06 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
0
Increase this members Kudos

Playing: BF2
Weapon: Rock
Posts: 558
Member No.: 667
Joined: 30-December 04
********

1. never put ps2 on carpet

2. do not play dvd's on ps2 models ver.0(0, and 1 is japanese ps2's only)-6 (none lower then scph-39001 unless a HD is installed with a dvd player upgrade)

3. never have it in a virtical position(may cuse scratches or disc read errors)

4. always restart before inserting a new disk

5. STOP COMPLAINING!!




tips by: N_?ɪR

This post has been edited by N_?ɪR: Dec 31 2004, 00:09


--------------------
user posted image
 
Mister V
  Post#19 | Dec 31 2004, 10:59 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1930
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Mass Effect
Weapon: Submarine
Posts: 10,079
Member No.: 21
Joined: 14-October 04
*************************

QUOTE(liammail9 @ Dec 31 2004, 02:54 )
if u ever derail a train do not put it in your garage it will freeze the game
*


a frikin train in your garage?! crazy.gif how you ever do that?!


--------------------
IPB Image
Then God said, "Let there be win",
and there was win, and it was good.
 
Bayze
  Post#20 | Dec 31 2004, 15:19 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
60
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: GTA: San Andreas
Weapon: Pointed Stick
Posts: 193
Member No.: 344
Joined: 12-November 04
****

lol once you've de-railed a train you can push the sections around like burnt out cars, only lighter, stupid really. (Woo got a new game without reciept biggrin.gif)


--------------------
 
Rechain
  Post#21 | Jan 17 2005, 13:08 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
0
Increase this members Kudos

Playing: GTA-SA. HL2, Sims 2
Weapon: Unarmed
Posts: 7
Member No.: 818
Joined: 17-January 05


The only problem I had with the (Not the game) ps2 console, was the error I got everytime I wanted to play GTA-SA (or other games)

Disc Read Error cry.gif

And I used more than 1-2 hours everytime to get the console to read the disc...
But without any luck... gun.gif

Ive deside therefore to open my console, and clean the laser.
And after that, it had work since...NO DISC READ ERROR ANYMORE!

I cleaned it in...I quess it was October/November...
That fix my problem with it... clap.gif

/Rechain

Ps. Sorry for the spelling, but Im danish and not the best to english oops.gif


--------------------
\\// ||)) //\\ \\// l The King Of Consoles!
/_/\_\ |_|)_) \_\/_/ /_/\_\ l Feel More, Play More!
----------------------------------------------------------
PS2 Is Still Number 1, But The Xbox Is Taking The Place!?!
 
Mister V
  Post#22 | Jan 18 2005, 22:52 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1930
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Mass Effect
Weapon: Submarine
Posts: 10,079
Member No.: 21
Joined: 14-October 04
*************************

good, so a possible solution is cleaning the laser lens biggrin.gif thanks for the tip, Rechain! thumbsup.gif


--------------------
IPB Image
Then God said, "Let there be win",
and there was win, and it was good.
 
dtm103
  Post#23 | Mar 23 2005, 00:07 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page



Unregistered





nope the only time it did say that it is when my old ps2 had a bad eye the eye is what reads the game so if u get disc read error it probably need replaced or the machine is defective. :thumbsup:
 
vader
  Post#24 | Mar 24 2005, 04:25 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
0
Increase this members Kudos

Playing: GTA San Andreas
Weapon: Pointed Stick
Posts: 152
Member No.: 1,016
Joined: 6-February 05
****

well not disc read errors but I went to little probe in in bone county (Right by area 69) and when I was talking to the pool guy you know the screen where you raise bid he was talking then this WERID @$$ SOUND IS JUST BOOMING OUT MY SPEAKERS!!! it was like blleeeeleleeelelelelleleleee with messed up random sounds of something. it was just weired could it be something on disk???

This post has been edited by vader: Mar 24 2005, 05:05


--------------------
user posted image
 
Meldince
  Post#25 | Mar 24 2005, 04:56 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
210
Increase this members Kudos



Playing: Halo 2//TO:KOL
Idiot Mod
Posts: 2,499
Member No.: 6
Joined: 13-October 04
**************

that was a plane crashing nearby and you ehard the explosion


--------------------
A Force To Be Reckoned With
IPB Image
Mission Guide Now Up!

IPB Image
 
vader
  Post#26 | Mar 24 2005, 05:04 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
0
Increase this members Kudos

Playing: GTA San Andreas
Weapon: Pointed Stick
Posts: 152
Member No.: 1,016
Joined: 6-February 05
****

QUOTE(Meldince @ Mar 24 2005, 01:56 )
that was a plane crashing nearby and you ehard the explosion
*


No It happened twice and its very rare for plane crashes in the game I only saw maybe 5 of them


--------------------
user posted image
 
DyingAlive
  Post#27 | Mar 24 2005, 05:13 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
1940
Increase this members Kudos



Weapon: M-16
Posts: 5,115
Member No.: 4
Joined: 13-October 04
********************

Could be your TV?


--------------------
IPB Image
 
wite_gangsta
  Post#28 | Mar 24 2005, 08:14 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
0
Increase this members Kudos

Playing: GTA: VC, GTA: SA
Weapon: Slingshot
Posts: 876
Member No.: 347
Joined: 13-November 04
*********

were u eating beans?


--------------------
download my latest vid - VC VS SA
 
vader
  Post#29 | Mar 24 2005, 15:14 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
0
Increase this members Kudos

Playing: GTA San Andreas
Weapon: Pointed Stick
Posts: 152
Member No.: 1,016
Joined: 6-February 05
****

Naw my tv was kewl all the sound went back to normal after talking to him it could be my disk probably since I played it for 2 hours laugh.gif


--------------------
user posted image
 
dtneter
  Post#30 | Oct 21 2005, 12:34 + Quote Post Go to the top of the page
User is offline
Mini Profile
PM
0
Increase this members Kudos

Playing: mercenaries
Weapon: Balloon
Posts: 38
Member No.: 120
Joined: 26-October 04
*

o o i had that error to when i was in grove street when me and my friend where quickly replacing san andreas with vice city.(dont do it if u dont want to hurt ur ps2)

in the beginning nothing happened until a heli flew over
then i had that bleeleleleleleeeeeeeleleleleeleee wallbash.gif my friend said try to shoot with a gun and the sound was getting worse. and i also heard cars crashing against walls in vice city.

also i didnt get out of grove street it will freeze the game.



check out my moving pic when my ps2 was making weird effects when i was doing it


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image

--------------------
And remember, respect is everything.
 
1 User(s) are reading this topic:
 
 
2 Pages V  1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
 
 
 
- Choose Skin: